The highest honors in the NFL are winning the Most Valuable Player award and the Super Bowl.

Unfortunately, those two haven’t been achieved by a single player in the same season since 1999 when Hall Of Fame quarterback Kurt Warner took his team all the way to the Super Bowl and won.

Everyone was expecting to see that curse end when we found out the night before Super Bowl LII that New England Patriots’ quarterback Tom Brady had won the league MVP.

Brady went into his 8th Super Bowl trying to become a six-time champion and win it as the league MVP for the first in his career.

However, Brady and the Patriots lost to the Philadelphia Eagles 41 to 33, and the curse continues.

Brady now joins a discreditable list that dates back to 2001.

In the 17 seasons since, 11 different men have won the award, and none have won the Super Bowl.

Getty Images
Photo Courtesy of Getty Images

In 2001, Kurt Warner led the Rams to their second Super Bowl in three years after winning his second league MVP. He would lose to Brady’s Patriots at the start of their dynasty.

In 2002, Rich Gannon won the MVP with the Oakland Raiders and took his team all the way to the Super Bowl, only to lose to coach Jon Gruden and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

In 2005, Former Seattle Seahawks running back Shaun Alexander won the MVP, but lost the Super Bowl to the Pittsburgh Steelers and Jerome Bettis.

sporting news
Photo Courtesy of Sporting News

Now it’s back to Brady and the perfect season. In 2007, Brady took his undefeated Patriots team into the Super Bowl against the New York Giants where a helmet catch cost Brady his opportunity of completing the perfect season when they lost 17-14.

Peyton Manning won his fourth league MVP in 2009 to become the player with most MVPs of all-time. However, he also fell victim to the MVP curse when he lost to Drew Brees and the New Orleans Saints while a member of the Indianapolis Colts, 31-17.

In 2013, Manning had another chance to win the Super Bowl after winning his fifth MVP, but the Seattle Seahawks handled him and his record-breaking offense as a member of the Denver Broncos.

Photo Courtesy of Sports Illustrated

Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton had the best season of his young NFL career when he led his team to a 15-1 record and all the way to the Super Bowl in 2015. It was there when he got exposed and lost to Manning’s Broncos 24-10 in what would be Manning’s last NFL game before he retired.

Newton’s division rival and Atlanta Falcons quarterback, Matt Ryan faced the same fate as everyone else on this list. Ryan won the league MVP and got his chance to break the curse, but he would have to get by Brady first. It looked like he was going to after jumping ahead 28-3 in the first half, but Brady being Brady took the chance away from Ryan and the Falcons.

When all is said and done for Brady’s career, he will go down as the most prominent quarterback to ever play the game of football. He is a surefire Hall of Famer and continues to break Super Bowl records, but breaking the MVP curse would have served his legacy best.

Will Brady ever get his 6th champions? Will he do it as league MVP?

You can comment with your thoughts and opinions in the comment section below. Also, don’t forget to subscribe and follow us on Twitter @factfictfant.

Featured Image: Photo Courtesy of MEme

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s